Project Details /

Background

Project Details - Background

The SCL is one of the strategic railway lines recommended in the Railway Development Strategy 2000. In March 2008, the Executive Council approved the further planning and design of the SCL using a concession approach under which the project will be funded by the Government and the Corporation is entrusted with its planning and design.

The Corporation and the Government have conducted a series of public consultations to gauge the views of different stakeholders regarding the project. While the majority of the people support the early construction of the SCL; some have raised concerns over the project's initial design.

The railway scheme was gazetted on 26 November 2010 under the Railways Ordinance and authorised by the Chief Executive in Council on 27 March 2012. The Finance Committee of the Legislative Council endorsed the funding of the SCL project on 11 May 2012.

Construction of the SCL has commenced in 2012. The Tai Wai to Hung Hom Section is expected to be completed in 2018 while the Hung Hom to Admiralty Section will have to interface with other infrastructure projects, including Wan Chai Development Phase II and Central-Wan Chai Bypass, and is expected to be completed in 2020.

項目資料 /

背景

項目 - 背景

沙中綫是政府在《鐵路發展策略2000》中建議興建的其中一條策略性鐵路。2008年3月,行政會議批准港鐵公司為沙中綫展開進一步的規劃和設計,並且通過以「服務經營權」模式推展沙中綫項目,由政府出資興建沙中綫,並委托港鐵公司進行該鐵路的規劃和設計。

港鐵公司與政府就沙中綫項目進行了廣泛的諮詢,了解各界對鐵路項目的意見。有不少公眾人士支持沙中綫盡快動工,但亦有地區人士和居民對沙中綫初步設計持不同的意見和關注。

鐵路方案已於2010年11月26日根據《鐵路條例》刊登憲報,並於2012年3月27日獲行政長官會同行政會議批准進行。立法會財務委員會亦於2012年5月11日通過沙中綫項目撥款申請。

項目已於2012年動工,由於「紅磡至金鐘段」須配合其他基建工程之進行,包括灣仔發展計劃第二期及中環灣仔繞道,「大圍至紅磡段」及「紅磡至金鐘段」會分兩階段完成。