Tree Protection

  • Tree Conversation at former Tai Hom Village

    To facilitate the construction works of SCL Diamond Hill Station, two Chinese banyan trees aged near 40 years old, located at the former Tai Hom Village require transplanting. Two giant trees together with soil and strengthening structure in a total of over 340 tonnes, equivalent to the total weight of 22 double-decked buses. The extensive preparation and transplantation took over half and a year to complete. Numerous challenges during transplantation process including complicated root system, tree structure attached with station structure, lifting procedure, and adverse weather have been overcome and finally two trees have been successfully transplanted to an appropriate location away from the construction site.

    The long term health of the tree is prime consideration. Engineers and arborists formulate a comprehensive plan before transplantation. Roots of two giant trees are about 10 metres in diameter. The team used hand tools to dig the compacted soil and search for root distribution. A cabling system was used to hold the branches so as to reduce the extent of swing, hereby preventing damage caused by collision among branches. To maintain the integrity and symmetrical tree form, two big crawler cranes were used in the lifting operation. Two gigantic trees are in good condition with new leaves grown.

    Numerous measures are in place to protect the trees, such as:

    • Designated tree protection zone away from the construction site;
    • A dripping system to irrigate the trees;
    • Monitor the tree condition on regular basis;
    • Use of tensiometer to monitor the water moisture in the soil;
    • Temporary frame is erected to support two trees.
    • Giant Banyan tree has been successfully transplanted and it is the first time in Hong Kong to conduct tree transplantation by using two lifting cranes.

    • Two gigantic trees have moved to new homes and are growing healthily with new leaves grown.

  • Tree Protection

    The Corporation has prepared plans to preserve trees which will be affected by the project.

    As with other railway projects, an environmental impact assessment to be conducted for SCL will examine the project's impact on trees along the alignment. Trees will be felled only if it is not possible to retain or transplant them. Where trees are removed, the Corporation will plant new ones to compensate the loss after the completion of construction.

    The proper handling method and proposal for compensatory planting will be submitted to the Environmental Protection Department for approval following a public consultation. The Corporation will appoint an independent arboricultural consultant to work out the detailed tree preservation plan and submitted to the relevant government departments for approval in accordance with statutory requirements and the Government's tree preservation guideline. The plan covers:

    • Detailed inspection records for individual trees such as location, tree species and height
    • Proposal to retain, transplant or fell individual trees
    • Compensatory planting
    • Detailed greening plan
    • Recording the details of each affected tree

    • Tree nursery

樹木保育

  • 前大磡村的樹木保育工作

    為配合沙中綫鑽石山站擴建工程,須移植兩棵位於車站工地範圍內兩棵逾40年的細葉榕。該兩棵樹木體積龐大,加上泥膽及用作鞏固的鋼材結構,吊運總重量合共超過340噸,相等於22輛雙層巴士的重量。工程團隊共耗去一年半時間,為巨樹移植作出規劃及籌備,期間遇到不少挑戰,包括複雜的根部系統、鑽石山站與樹根的相連及惡劣天氣等,最終工程團隊排除萬難,將兩棵巨樹搬遷到遠離工程、合適生長的位置。

    為保護巨樹的長遠健康發展,在移植前,工程團隊及樹木專家作出詳細研究。由於兩棵巨樹泥膽直徑達10米,工程人員以人手用工具挖掘,尋找根部系統分佈。樹木專家運用繩索穩固系統,根據樹枝與樹枝本身的形態連繫起來,減低樹冠搖動的幅度,避免樹枝之間因碰撞而受損。為了保留樹冠的完整及樹木的形態,工程團隊為其中一棵巨樹動用兩部大型吊重機,成功將樹木移植。巨樹移植後生長情良好,並長生嫩綠新葉。

    港鐵公司十分注重樹木保育,並推行多項措施保護大樹健康,包括:

    • 劃定特定區域,在遠離工地範圍設立樹木保護區;
    • 利用滴灌方法為兩棵大樹灌溉;
    • 定期檢視兩棵大樹的健康狀況;
    • 利用儀器監察土壤含水量;
    • 設置臨時支架支撐大樹。
    • 工程團隊動用兩部大型吊重機為其中一棵細葉榕進行移植,為全港首次。
    • 兩棵巨樹搬家後長出嫩綠新葉。
  • 樹木保育

    港鐵公司在推展鐵路項目時,由設計階段開始已計劃如何保育受工程影響的樹木。我們會盡量保留沿綫每一棵樹木,並在無可避免的情況下才會移除樹木。如需要移除樹木,港鐵公司會在工程完成後,重新種植樹木,以作補償。

    沙中綫與其他鐵路項目一樣,在工程展開前先進行環境影響評估研究,評估工程對沿綫樹木的影響、提出妥善的處理方法,並建議樹木補償種植計劃。有關的報告將進行公開諮詢,並由環境保護署審核。港鐵公司更會聘請獨立的樹木專家根據法例要求及政府的樹木保育指引,制定詳細的樹木保育計劃,並提交予有關政府部門審批,計劃包括:

    • 詳細檢視並記錄每棵受影響樹木的位置、品種、高度等資料
    • 為每棵樹的處理提出建議,包括保留、移植或移除
    • 提出補種建議
    • 提出詳細的綠化計劃