Heritage Preservation

  • Recent Update

    Report on Archaeological Survey cum Excavation Finding in Scared Hill (North) for SCL (Tai Wai to Hung Hom Section) (June 2017)
    (The below mentioned ”To Kwa Wan Station” is now currently known as “Sung Wong Toi Station”)

    The final report of the archaeological works for the SCL To Kwa Wan Station works site was submitted to the Antiquities and Monuments Office and accepted in late June 2017. It consolidates information on the archaeological finds unearthed in the SCL To Kwa Wan Station works site, including their characteristics and periods of origins.

    During the three-phased archaeological works which lasted more than two years from late 2012, a large quantity of ceramic shards was unearthed. They included a small amount of high quality ceramic shards and a large amount of shards of ceramic utensils with the majority being commonly used back then. Features from the Song-Yuan period to mid-20th century were unearthed, providing physical evidence to support that the areas of archaeological works were inhabited as early as the Song-Yuan period. The finds deepen the understanding of the history of the former Sacred Hill area and have provided the basis for future academic researches on Hong Kong during the Song and Yuan dynasties.

    Please click here for the press release, here for the executive summary and here for the full report.

    Antiquities Advisory Board meeting (8 June 2017)
    The Corporation and government departments attended the Antiquities Advisory Board meeting and presented the modifications in design for the SCL To Kwa Wan Station for the conservation of archaeological features and answered members’ queries.

    Agenda and related documents can be viewed at the Antiquities Advisory Board website.

    Members of Advisory Council on the Environment visit the archaeological survey site (13 March 2015)
    Advisory Council on the Environment members visited the works site of To Kwa Wan Station to learn about the archaeological features discovered at the site.

    Secretary for Development announced the conservation plans of SCL archaeological works (8 December 2014)
    Secretary for Development announced the conservation plans for archaeological features discovered at SCL To Kwa Wan Station.

    Please refer to the website of the Development Bureau, “SDEV speaks on conservation plans for archaeological features discovered at To Kwa Wan Station of the Shatin to Central Link” for more details.

    Antiquities Advisory Board meeting (4 December 2014)
    The Corporation and government departments attended Antiquities Advisory Board meeting and presented the latest archaeological features discovered at To Kwa Wan Station and the proposed conservation proposal of the relics, and answered the queries of the members.

    Meeting minutes and related documents can be viewed at the Antiquities Advisory Board website.

    Kowloon City District Council special meeting (1 December 2014)
    The Corporation and government departments attended Kowloon City District Council special meeting and presented the latest archaeological features discovered at To Kwa Wan Station and the proposed conservation proposal of the relics, and answered queries of the members.

    For details, please refer to the presentation slides (Chinese version only).

    Members of Kowloon City District Council visit the archaeological survey site (1 December 2014)
    To learn more about the archaeological features discovered at To Kwa Wan Station works site, members of Kowloon City District Council visited the works site of To Kwa Wan Station again. Representatives of the Corporation, government departments, and archaeologists presented the latest progress of the archaeological survey and conservation proposals.

    For details, please refer to the presentation slides (Chinese version only).

    Antiquities Advisory Board members visit the archaeological survey site (26 November 2014)
    To learn about the archaeological features discovered at To Kwa Wan Station works site, Antiquities Advisory Board members and representatives of government departments visited the works site of To Kwa Wan Station.

    Meetings of related Panels of Legislative Council (24 and 25 November 2014)
    The Corporation and government departments attended the meetings of Subcommittee on Matters Relating to Railways and Panel on Development of Legislative Council, and presented the latest archaeological features discovered at To Kwa Wan Station and the proposed conservation proposals.

    Please click here for the presentation slides of the Subcommittee on Matters Relating to Railways meeting on 24 November 2014.

    Please click here for the paper and here for the presentation slides of the Panel on Development meeting on 25 November 2014.

    Special meeting of the Antiquities Advisory Board (20 November 2014)
    The Corporation and government departments presented the latest archaeological features discovered at To Kwa Wan Station and the proposed conservation proposal of the relics to members of Antiquities Advisory Board.

    Meeting minutes and related documents can be viewed at the Antiquities Advisory Board website.

    Archaeological field works at To Kwa Wan Station works site have been completed (Late September 2014)
    Archaeological field works at Part 2 and Part 3 Archaeological Area were completed in late September.

    Antiquities Advisory Board members visit the archaeological survey site (21 July 2014)
    To learn about the updated progress of the archaeological survey and the construction works of temporary protection wall at T1 archaeological area, Antiquities Advisory Board members and representatives of Antiquities and Monuments Office visited the works site of To Kwa Wan Station. The construction of temporary protection wall has been completed and the excavation of the nearby Tunnel Boring Machine launching shaft has been resumed progressively.

    Protection wall for archaeological area T1 (25 June 2014)
    The construction of a temporary protection wall commenced at the T1 archaeological area of the To Kwa Wan Station works site to protect archaeological finds during the rainy season. Prior to the commencement of construction works, the project team put a series of monitoring measures in place to ensure that the finds are not affected by the works.

    Antiquities Advisory Board special meeting (24 June 2014)
    The Corporation presented an enhanced protection wall proposal for the T1 archaeological site at the Tunnel Boring Machine (TBM) launching shaft area to the Antiquities Advisory Board members to address their concerns about the original proposal. The purpose of building the protection wall is to minimise the impact of adverse weather and nearby construction works to the finds at the T1 archaeological site.

    Meeting minutes and related documents can be viewed at the Antiquities Advisory Board website.

    For press release, please click here.

    Kowloon City District Council members visit the archaeological survey site (10 June 2014)
    Kowloon City District Council members visited the works site of To Kwa Wan Station to learn about the progress of the archaeological survey and the construction works. Representatives from the Corporation and the archaeological specialist employed by the Contractor briefed members about the construction works and the archaeological survey.

    For the presentation slides, please click here (Chinese version only).

    Legislative Council members visit the archaeological survey site (3 June 2014)
    To learn more about the progress of the archaeological survey and the construction works, members of the Panel on Transport and other panels of the Legislative Council visited the works site of To Kwa Wan Station. Representatives from the Antiquities and Monuments Office, the archaeological specialist employed by the Contractor and the General Manager – SCL updated members about the construction works and the archaeological survey.

    For the presentation slides, please click here (Chinese version only).

    For the press release, please click here.

    Antiquities Advisory Board special meetings (15 and 29 May 2014)
    The Corporation presented the latest progress of the archaeological works at To Kwa Wan Station works site to members of Antiquities Advisory Board.

    Meeting minutes and related documents can be viewed at the Antiquities Advisory Board website.

    Meeting of Working Group on SCL under Kowloon City District Council’s Traffic and Transport Committee (12 May 2014)
    The Corporation presented the latest progress update on the archaeological works at the To Kwa Wan Station site to members of Working Group on SCL under Kowloon City District Council’s Traffic and Transport Committee.

    For the presentation slides, please click here (Chinese version only).

    Antiquities Advisory Board members visit the archaeological survey site (2 May 2014)
    To learn about the progress of the archaeological survey and the construction works, Antiquities Advisory Board members and representatives of Antiquities and Monuments Office visited the works site of To Kwa Wan Station.

  • Introduction

    The Corporation respects the preservation of relics and history. Prior to the commencement of the SCL project, the Corporation conducted archaeological studies at the works site in the Kai Tak Development Area near Sung Wong Toi Playground and the former Tia Hom Village of Diamond Hill as recommended by the Approved Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) Report of the SCL. All finds and field archives of the above exercises are being handled according to the statutory requirements for handling archaeological finds and archives.

  • Archaeological survey at To Kwa Wan Station works site

    Background
    The construction works for To Kwa Wan Station are now in progress in the Kai Tak Development Area near Sung Wong Toi Playground. In the approved Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) Report of the SCL, it was recommended that an archaeological survey-cum-excavation be conducted at the designated area (i.e. Part 1 Archaeological Area) to salvage any possible archaeological remains discovered in the project site.

    Archaeological Survey-cum-Excavation Area as per EIA (Nov 2012 – End of 2013) (Part 1 Archaeological Area)
    The archaeological survey-cum-excavation commenced in November 2012 and was completed in December 2013. The archaeological work was conducted by a team of independent qualified archaeologists led by Dr Liu Wen-suo. The archaeological work was conducted in accordance with the works plan approved by Antiquities and Monuments Office. Meanwhile, piling works outside the archaeological area have commenced as per the original schedule. In view of the quantity of the finds and relics discovered, and to allow the public to understand more about the finds, an Interim Report was submitted to Antiquities and Monuments Office in April 2014 upon the department’s request to report the initial analysis of the finds.

    For the interim report of Archaeological work at Sacred Hill area for Shatin to Central Link – Tai Wai to Hung Hom Section, please click here.

    Archaeological Watching Brief at shaft area (Part 2 Area) (Sep 2013 – Early 2014)
    In September 2013, over 500 coins from the Song Dynasty were found while piling works were being carried out at the Tunnel Boring Machine launching shaft. Antiquities and Monuments Office was then notified for site inspection. It was agreed with relevant government departments and Antiquities and Monuments Office that an archaeological watching brief should be conducted at the launching shaft area. In other words, the archaeological area was extended to the Tunnel Boring Machine launching shaft area.

    An archaeological watching brief usually refers to monitoring works to be carried out by archaeologists during construction. To be cautious, an archaeological excavation was carried out at the Part 2 Area.

    The east part of the launching shaft was the mountain body of the former Sacred Hill and no cultural layer was found there, whereas the west part contained cultural layers dating from the Late Qing-Republic of China periods to the Song-Yuan Dynasties. Features including the building features, stone well and pottery drainage were discovered in Area T1.

    For more stringent protection of the archaeological study area, modifications of the design and construction of SCL To Kwa Wan Station have been made in accordance with the conservation plans announced by the Antiquities Authority. These include modification and relocation of the station ventilation facilities and plant rooms to allow in-situ preservation of Well J1 and nearby building foundation remains; installation of additional protection wall to protect the stone building features outside the northern side of the station from any construction impacts.

    Archaeological Watching Brief at station area (Part 3 Area) (Apr – Sep 2014)
    Based on the findings in Part 2 Area, it is considered that there is still archaeological potential in the remaining excavation areas of To Kwa Wan Station. After discussion between the Corporation and relevant government departments including Antiquities and Monument Office, the area of the archaeological survey was extended to the whole construction area of To Kwa Wan Station under the advice of Antiquities and Monument Office to make sure that any potential cultural layers would not be affected by the construction works. The excavation of the station and adits were partially suspended, while the archaeological survey was completed. The further Archaeological Watching Brief fieldwork was completed in September 2014.

    Impact of archaeological works on the SCL construction:
    Excavation of the Tunnel Boring Machine launching shaft was suspended to make way for the archaeological study which has delayed the original timetable for assembling the tunnel boring machine, resulting in an estimated delay of at least 11 months to the Tai Wai to Hung Hom Section of the SCL. With joint efforts made by the projects team and contractors, the delay has been partially mitigated with the target commissioning date of the Tai Wai to Hung Hom Section of the SCL advanced to mid-2019. It is estimated that the archaeological works would result in a minimum additional cost of HK$4.1 billion to the SCL. The Corporation has submitted the latest Cost to Complete estimate to Government and stands ready to provide any further information required to assist the Government in its review of such estimate.

  • Heritage Preservation at Former Tai Hom Village

    Recent update
    The archaeological report of the archaeological works conducted at the former Tai Hom Village of Diamond Hill as recommended by the approved Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) Report of the SCL was submitted and accepted by the Antiquities and Monuments Office in February 2017.

    Please click here for the press release, here for the executive summary and here for the full report.

    Background
    Two historical structures located at the former Tai Hom Village, the Old Pillbox and the former Royal Airforce Hangar are classified as Grade 2 and Grade 3 historical buildings respectively. Built heritage experts were invited to prepare an intensive study to formulate a detailed conservation plan based on the structural assessment. The Corporation has temporarily relocated the Old Pillbox and the former Royal Airforce Hangar in pieces as far as practicable according to the conversion plan approved by the Antiquities and Monuments Office.

    The steel frame of the Royal Airforce Hangar was already extensively corroded and part of the frame had collapsed, while asbestos was also found in the wall cladding and roofing materials of the Hangar. It would thus be impossible to fully restore the structure. Each component was carefully recorded with numbering by our contractor. These components were stabilized and protected by framework, then gradually dismantled and temporarily stored in June 2013 following the approved conversion plan. On the other hand, the structure of the Old Pillbox was relatively complete. Steel frames were erected inside to stabilize the structure so as to foster the relocation together with the associated foundation. The Pillbox was successfully relocated in November 2013.

    Both the Hangar and the Pillbox are now properly stored in temporary storage compounds in the MTR works site at the former Tai Hom Village.

    Condition of the former Royal Airforce Hangar before dismantling and storage.

    The Hangar is now properly stored in temporary storage compounds.

    Strengthening works were done before relocation of the Old Pillbox.

    The Old Pillbox was moved away from the construction site.

文物保育

  • 最新進展

    沙中綫 (大圍至紅磡段) 聖山 (北) 考古調查暨發掘報告 (2017年6月)
    (下文所述之「土瓜灣站」為現改稱「宋皇臺」之車站)

    沙中綫土瓜灣站工地考古調查及發掘工作報告已於2017年6月底獲古物古蹟辦事處接納。報告涵蓋在沙中綫土瓜灣站工地範圍發現的遺蹟及出土文物的相關資料,包括其特徵、年代等。

    土瓜灣站考古調查及發掘工作於2012年年底展開,分三期進行。歷時兩年多的發掘工作發現了大量曾經使用的陶瓷器碎片,當中大部分為過往日常生活使用的陶瓷器,少量陶瓷碎片相對屬較高質量,以及一些可追溯至宋元時期至二十世紀中期的考古遺蹟。這些發現引證了早在宋元時期,已有人在考古工作區以至附近區域居住,有助加深了解前聖山區域的歷史,並為日後研究宋元時期的香港提供了基礎材料。

    詳情請參閱新聞稿報告摘要報告全文(只備英文版)。

    古物諮詢委員會會議 (2017年6月8日)
    港鐵公司聯同政府部門代表向古物諮詢委員會簡報沙中綫土瓜灣站就考古發現保育方案所作的相應修改,並解答古物諮詢委員會委員的查詢。

    會議議程及文件請參閱古物諮詢委員會網頁

    環境諮詢委員會成員視察土瓜灣車站及隧道工地出土的考古文物及遺跡 (2015年3月13日)
    多名環境諮詢委員會成員實地視察土瓜灣站及隧道工地了解土瓜灣站工地出土的考古文物及遺跡。

    發展局局長宣佈沙中綫遺跡保育方案 (2014年12月8日)
    發展局局長於2014年12月8日宣佈沙中綫遺跡保育方案。

    詳情請參閱發展局網頁「發展局局長就沙中線考古遺蹟保育方案會見傳媒的談話全文」。

    古物諮詢委員會(古諮會)會議 (2014年12月4日)
    港鐵公司聯同政府部門代表向古諮會簡報沙中綫土瓜灣站考古發現及遺跡保育方案,及解答古諮會委員的查詢。

    會議議程及文件請參閱古物諮詢委員會網頁

    九龍城區議會特別會議 (2014年12月1日)
    港鐵公司聯同政府部門向九龍城區議會簡報沙中綫土瓜灣站考古發現及遺跡保育方案,及解答九龍城區議會議員的查詢。

    如欲參閱幻燈片簡介,請按這裡

    九龍城區議會議員視察土瓜灣車站及隧道工地出土的考古文物及遺跡 (2014年12月1日)
    為進一步了解土瓜灣站工地出土的考古文物及遺跡,九龍城區議會十多名議員再次到訪土瓜灣站及隧道工地並進行實地視察。政府部門代表、港鐵公司代表和考古專家介紹考古工作最新進展及相關保育方案。

    如欲參閱幻燈片簡介,請按這裡

    古物諮詢委員會成員視察土瓜灣車站及隧道工地出土的考古文物及遺跡 (2014年11月26日)
    為了解土瓜灣站工地出土的考古文物及遺跡,多名古物諮詢委員會委員及政府部門代表實地視察土瓜灣站及隧道工地。

    立法會相關委員會會議 (2014年11月24及25日)
    港鐵公司聯同政府部門出席立法會交通事務委員會鐵路事宜小組委員會及發展事務委員會會議,簡報沙中綫土瓜灣站考古發現及遺跡保育方案。

    詳情請參閱交通事務委員會鐵路事宜小組委員會2014年11月24日的幻燈片簡介,以及發展事務委員會會議2014年11月25日的會議文件幻燈片簡介

    古物諮詢委員會特別會議 (2014年11月20日)
    港鐵公司聯同政府部門向古諮會簡報沙中綫土瓜灣站考古發現及遺跡保育方案。

    會議議程及文件請參閱古物諮詢委員會網頁

    土瓜灣站考古田野發掘工作大致完成 (2014年9月底)
    沙中綫土瓜灣站第二及第三考古區內,涉及土瓜灣站建造範圍的考古田野發掘在2014年9月底大致完成。

    古物諮詢委員會成員視察土瓜灣車站及隧道工地的考古工作 (2014年7月21日)
    為了解土瓜灣站工地最新考古工作進度及T1考古區臨時保護牆建造工程,古物諮詢委員會多名委員及古物古蹟辦事處代表實地視察土瓜灣站及隧道工地。T1考古區臨時保護牆建造工程現已完成,而鄰近的隧道鑽挖機豎井挖掘工序亦已陸續恢復。

    T1考古區保護牆建造工程 (2014年6月25日)
    土瓜灣站工地T1考古區開始進行臨時保護牆建造工程,確保遺蹟在雨季期間得到適當的保護。在建造保護牆之前,工程人員進行多項監測措施,確保已發現的遺蹟不受工程影響。

    出席古物諮詢委員會特別會議(2014年6月24日)
    港鐵公司向古物諮詢委員會簡報經優化的臨時保護牆建造工程技術方案,以釋除委員對方案的疑慮。保護牆工程是要盡量減少天氣和鄰近豎井工程對 T1考古區內遺蹟的影響。

    會議議程及文件請參閱古物諮詢委員會網頁

    如欲參閱新聞稿,請按這裡

    九龍城區議會視察土瓜灣車站及隧道工地的考古工作 (2014年6月10日)
    為了解沙中綫土瓜灣站的考古工作及工程進展,九龍城區議會十多名議員到訪土瓜灣車站及隧道工地,由沙中綫承建商委聘的考古專家和港鐵公司代表介紹考古工作及工程進展,並進行實地視察。

    如欲參閱幻燈片簡介,請按這裡

    立法會議員視察土瓜灣車站及隧道工地的考古工作 (2014年6月3日)
    為進一步了解沙中綫土瓜灣站的考古工作及工程進展,立法會交通事務委員會及其他委員會多名議員到土瓜灣車站及隧道工地,視察考古工作及工程實況。古物古蹟辦事處、沙中綫承建商委聘的考古專家和港鐵公司總經理-沙中綫介紹沙中綫工程計劃和考古工作的現況。

    如欲參閱幻燈片簡介,請按這裡

    如欲參閱新聞稿,請按這裡

    出席古物諮詢委員會特別會議(2014年5月15日及5月29日)
    沙中綫九龍城段工程團隊出席古物諮詢委員會特別會議,向委員匯報沙中綫工程項目聖山範圍考古工作的最新進展。

    會議議程及文件請參閱古物諮詢委員會網頁

    出席九龍城區議會轄下交通及運輸事務委員會《關注沙中綫工作小組》會議(2014年5月12日)
    沙中綫九龍城段工程團隊出席九龍城區議會關注沙中綫工作小組會議,匯報工程進展及講解土瓜灣站工地的考古工作。

    如欲參閱幻燈片簡介,請按這裡

    古物諮詢委員會成員視察土瓜灣車站及隧道工地的考古工作 (2014年5月2日)
    為進一步了解沙中綫土瓜灣站的考古工作及工程進展,古物諮詢委員會及古物古蹟辦事處到土瓜灣車站及隧道工地,視察考古工作及工程實況。

  • 簡介

    港鐵公司一向重視文物保育,在發展沙中綫鐵路項目前,港鐵公司根據環境影響評估報告的建議,於沙中綫沿綫鄰近宋皇臺遊樂場的啓德發展區及鑽石山前大磡村用地,進行考古及保育工作。港鐵公司在工程期間,所有發現均按照古物古蹟辦事處既定程序及同意下處理及跟進。

  • 土瓜灣站考古調查及工程進展

    背景
    港鐵公司現正於鄰近宋皇臺遊樂場的啓德發展區興建沙中綫車站及隧道。根據環境影響評估報告(環評報告)的建議,須在土瓜灣站工地指定範圍(即第一考古區)進行考古調查及發掘工作,以記錄在工地內可能發現的考古文物。

    考古調查暨發掘(第一考古區)(2012年11月-2013年底)

    根據環評報告建議的考古工作於2012年11月展開,考古調查暨發掘工作由持牌人劉文鎖博士帶領一隊經驗豐富的合資格獨立考古專家團隊,按照古物古蹟辦事處審核的考古計劃書進行,並已於2013年年底完成。與此同時,在第一考古區外的工地亦按原定計劃展開地基工程。是次考古發掘了大量文物,但為了讓公眾對該次考古調查結果有一個概括的認識,考古學家根據古物古蹟辦事處的要求,在2014年4月先提交中期報告,目的是報告考古發掘的初步結果和分析。

    有關沙中綫(大圍至紅磡段)聖山(北)考古調查暨發掘中期報告(2014年4月)請參閱古物古蹟辦事處網頁(只備英文版)。

    豎井區域考古監察(第二考古區)(2013年9月-2014年初)

    於2013年9月,項目施工期間,在隧道鑽挖機豎井建造樁柱過程中,挖出的土壤裡發現了超過五百個古錢幣,港鐵公司立即通知古物古蹟辦事處到工地視察。經與相關政府部門磋商後,古物古蹟辦事處認為須在豎井內進行考古監察,以確保可能潛在的文化堆積不會受到豎井施工所影響。換言之,考古範圍須擴大至豎井位置。

    考古監察一般的做法是在施工過程中由考古學家進行監察,但為慎重起見,第二考古區的工作實際上是按考古發掘方法進行。

    豎井區東面是聖山的山體部分,沒有找到文化層,豎井區西面則包含了從晚清民國時期到宋元時期的文化層。在這個區域發現少量晚清民國時期的遺蹟,宋元時期的遺蹟亦有發現,包括在T1範圍內的石砌牆基、垃圾坑、石砌方井、石砌渠道等。

    為了在工程進行期間盡力保護在第二考古區內T1位置發現的文物,港鐵公司及承建商已按古物事務監督宣布的保育方案,相應修改土瓜灣站的設計和施工方法,包括修改及遷移車站通風設施和機房,以原址保留J1井及殘存房屋構件;興建額外的保護牆,以確保車站北面以外的遺蹟不受工程影響。

    土瓜灣站建設範圍內的考古監察(第三考古區)(2014年4月至9月)
    由於豎井區域考古監察(第二考古區)的發現顯示,土瓜灣站的其他建設區域仍然具有考古潛質,港鐵公司與相關政府部門經過磋商後,古物古蹟辦事處認為需要擴大考古範圍至整個車站的其餘建造位置,以確保可能潛在的文化堆積不會受到土瓜灣站的施工所影響。部分車站及行人隧道挖掘須暫停,至考古工作完成才可繼續施工。考古監察已於2014年9月完成。

    考古工作對沙中綫工程的影響:
    豎井挖掘工程因考古工作而暫停,於豎井底部進行的隧道鑽挖機組裝工序未能按計劃展開。 土瓜灣站的考古工作和保育方案為沙中綫「東西走廊」工程帶來最少11個月的滯後。在沙中綫工程團隊和承建商的努力下,實施的多項追回進度措施已漸見成效,現時沙中綫「大圍至紅磡段」可提前於2019年年中通車。是次考古工作和發現令沙中綫工程造價估算上調最少41億港元。港鐵公司預計於2017年下半年完成沙中綫工程造價的詳細評估,之後將正式向政府提交最新的工程造價估算。

  • 前大磡村文物保育工作

    最新進展
    沙中綫(大圍至紅磡段)前大磡村考古調查暨發掘報告(2017年2月)
    港鐵公司根據沙中綫環境影響評估報告的建議,在鑽石山前大磡村用地進行考古及保育工作,考古專家已經完成有關工作並向古物古蹟辦事處提交考古報告,該報告已於2017年2月獲古蹟辦接納。

    詳情請參閱新聞稿報告摘要報告全文(只備英文版) 。

    背景
    位於鑽石山前大磡村港鐵工地內的機槍堡及前皇家空軍飛機庫,分別被評為二級及三級歷史建築物。為制定周詳的保護方案,港鐵公司在施工前聘請文物建築專家作深入研究,並與古物古蹟辦事處就評估結果制定遷移並暫存機槍堡、拆卸並保留部分前皇家空軍飛機庫的方案,而施工期間的詳細保護方案已獲古物古蹟辦事處審批。

    前皇家空軍飛機庫的鋼材結構嚴重銹蝕,部分鋼架已經倒塌,頂部及外牆均發現石棉物料,故無法原物原樣重置飛機庫,須分件拆卸及保存。在拆卸前,承建商仔細記錄每個組件的資料,並為每個組件編排號碼,繼而以支架鞏固及保護飛機庫,再按照保護方案內的圖則分件拆卸,拆卸工程於2013年6月完成。另外,機槍堡結構大致完整,體積亦較小,在搬遷前,承建商在機槍堡以內豎立支架加固結構,以便整個建築物連地基作保存,機槍堡已於2013年11月成功遷移。

    前皇家空軍飛機庫及機槍堡已暫時存放在位於鑽石山前大磡村工地內不受工程影響的的臨時貯存庫。

    • 未拆卸的前皇家空軍飛機庫。
    • 前皇家空軍飛機庫已存放在臨時貯存庫。
    • 工程人員在機槍堡進行鞏固工作, 為遷移作準備。
    • 工程人員將機槍堡移離大磡村工地。