Construction /

Safety First

The safety of our customers, the public, contractors and employees is an absolute prerequisite. The MTR Corporation is committed to consistently meeting statutory requirements, maintaining a safety-first culture and implementing management systems crucial to the achievement of our safety goals.

Guidelines on Heat Stress Issued to Promote Safety and Health

Working outdoors for long hours in very hot weather may cause health hazards. The MTR Corporation continues its quest to improve working conditions and has issued Heat Stress Prevention Guidelines for contractors of our new railway projects to further enhance workers' safety and health.

The Guidelines came into effect on the 16 July 2012 and are aimed at preventing heat stress for outdoor workers. The Guidelines are applicable in the hot months, between 15 June and 15 September, and whenever the Hong Kong Observatory issues the 'Very Hot Weather Warning'.

The Guidelines recommend that all site workers should take a 15-minute rest break after every 90 minutes of continuous work to reduce core body temperature. Contractors are required to conduct Heat Stress Risk Assessments on site conditions and work procedures; and provide rest shelters with drinking water, as well as seats and fans throughout the site. Site nurses will conduct preliminary health screening to all new workers and conduct regular body temperature checks for at-risk workers, especially for those conducting heavy, manual work and for new joiners. Workers are provided with breathable clothing to reduce core temperatures.

The MTR Corporation and the contractors, have put a great deal of effort into enhancing awareness among workers at risk of heat stress by providing training, including site induction courses, tool box talks and briefings. Other than displaying banners and posters, pocket cards on heat stress prevention are also provided.

Contractors of the Corporation have also demonstrated their full support by action. Hsin Chong Construction, the contractor of Contract 802 of the Express Rail Link project, and Chun Wo-Hip Hing Joint Venture, the contractor of Contract 1002 of the Kwun Tong Line Extension project, have been awarded Gold Award and Bronze Award respectively for their outstanding performance in the prevention of heat stress in the Best Occupational Health Program for Prevention of Heat Stroke at Work, organised by the Occupational Safety and Health Council.

"Safety is the utmost concern of the MTR Corporation. By issuing these Heat Stress Prevention Guidelines, we aim to further improve the safety culture of our workers and further improve the working environment. The Corporation and our contractors are committed to finding new and innovative ways to further enhance the safe and healthy practice of the construction industry," said TC Chew, Projects Director of the MTR Corporation.


Regular water spray at work sites (left) and placing ice in tunnels (right) may help reduce the temperature of the working environment.


Measures for prevention of heat stress such as rest stations at outdoor working areas (left) and ventilators at confined working areas (right).


The MTR Corporation is embarking on a campaign to on enhance the culture of safe work sites. Information packages, posters, banners and pocket cards have been prepared to raise workers' personal awareness of the risk of heat stress.

工程建造 /

安全至上

確保顧客、公眾人士、承辦商及員工的安全是公司經營的先決條件。為此,港鐵公司承諾符合所有法定要求,並致力維持一個安全至上的文化,採用有效的管理機制,目標是不斷提升安全表現。

職安健更進一步 ─ 預防中暑指引

酷熱天氣下長時間在戶外工作會影響健康,港鐵公司除了持續改善工地環境,更向各新鐵路項目之承建商發出安全指引,進一步保障工人的安全及健康。

指引已於2012年7月16日正式生效,適用於每年的6月15日至9月15日期間,及所有天文台發出酷熱天氣警告的日子。

指引建議前綫工人應在連續工作每90分鐘後小休15分鐘,承建商亦需就個別工地及工序情況,進行熱壓力風險評估;承建商需在工地提供休息處、飲用水、座椅及風扇;駐工地護士亦需為所有新入職工人作初步的健康評估,並為中暑風險可能較高的工人定時量度體溫,尤其是新入職員工及需進行體力勞動工序的工人。承建商亦應為工人提供透氣的工作服,有助工人身體散熱。

港鐵公司已聯同各承建商透過不同途徑,包括安排課程、提供講座及相關資訊、印發宣傳海報、橫額及提示咭等,加強前綫工人預防中暑的意識。

安全是港鐵公司的首要關注事項,我們希望透過發出有關預防中暑的指引,進一步加強工地安全文化及改善工作環境,長遠來說,港鐵公司及各承建商會繼續推陳出新,為建造業安全與健康的發展出一分力。

在工地定時灑水(左圖)及在隧道內放置大型冰塊(右圖),均有助降低工作環境的溫度。

落實預防中暑的安全措施,包括在戶外工作環境設置休息處(左圖),及為密閉工作環境裝設抽風系統(右圖)。

港鐵公司積極推動安全的工地文化,已為各新鐵路項目工地編製教材及印發宣傳海報、橫額及提示咭,為前綫工人提供預防中暑的「小貼士」。